Easy Peasy Chocolate Cake

This cake is not only incredibly easy to make it is also so beautiful and moist and lasts for a few days.  It is a recipe that my mum gave me and I have made it so often I actually know the recipe off by heart!  You can use your own favorite icing on it (I use to do a mock cream icing but found it too sweet so now just use my own simple recipe which I will include)  It is also an awesome cake to make for birthdays!Image

1 cup water
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 TBSP cocoa
100g butter
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups Self raising flour

In a medium-large saucepan put in water, sugar, baking soda, cocoa and butter.  Bring to boil until butter melts (I usually give it a wee bit of a whisk to break up any cocoa lumps in there)  Take off heat then leave to completely cool (Takes 1-1 1/2 hours.  If you are in a rush you can put in fridge and it will still turn out okay, but it is better for your fridge if you can leave it out haha!)  IF YOU DON”T LEAVE TO COOL THE EGGS WILL COOK IN IT WHEN YOU ADD THEM

Once mixture is cool preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

Beat/whisk the eggs well then add them to cooled mixture and mix in.  Add flour and mix well.

Pour mixture into a well greased cake tin (or a silicone tin)  Make sure it is very well greased otherwise cake will stick (I usually use a spray oil and pour mixture in just as I am about to put into over so the oil doesn’t mix into cake which works perfectly, it hasn’t stuck since!!)

Bake for 35 mins.  Leave to cool in tin otherwise it will break up.  Ice when cool

Icing Recipe:

50g butter
2+ cups icing sugar
Capful vanilla essence.
2 TBSP cocoa (You can add more if you would like)
Boiling water

Melt butter in microwave.  Add 2 cups icing sugar, vanilla and cocoa and mix well.  The icing will be lumpy/dry.  Add some boiling water (About a TBSp at a time) and mix well until it is smooth and glossy, then start adding more icing sugar to make it at the constancy you want.  If you add too much icing sugar, add more boiling water to it.

You can make different flavours by taking out cocoa and vanilla and adding your own essences or even unconcertared liquid cordial.  Just make sure you taste test!! 😀  (My favorite icing to put on this cake is chocolate and raspberry!!  I let the raspberry take over a wee bit and it is devine!)

About The Crafty Mama Recipes

I am a stay at home mum who loves to cook and bake when I can. I am always trying out new recipes, or improve recipes I have tried. After being asked by friends to always send them my recipes I decided to start up this blog so not only I could send them to them easily but so everyone can find them and enjoy them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

